mkkasce.blogg.se

Setting up windows hot keys for mac
Setting up windows hot keys for mac












  1. Setting up windows hot keys for mac install#
  2. Setting up windows hot keys for mac code#
  3. Setting up windows hot keys for mac series#

Setting up windows hot keys for mac install#

I only use Powershell if I want to use Chocolatey to install something. You can check out what I install with Chocolatey here. You can also use Chocolatey to install browsers like Edge, Chrome, Firefox, etc.

setting up windows hot keys for mac

Setting up windows hot keys for mac code#

Set-ExecutionPolicy Bypass -Scope Process -Force iex ((New-Object ).DownloadString(''))Īt this point, I use Chocolatey to install Visual Studio Code (which is my primariy text editor). (Get this command from Chocolatey’s official installation page if you don’t feel safe copying it here). You can install Chocolatey with the following command in Powershell. But I still like to use Chocolatey to install Windows applications. We’ll use apt for most of our development efforts. It lets you install binaries and applications. Chocolatey does the same thing, but for Windows. You may be familiar with Homebrew (for Mac) and apt (for Linux). You’ll know you have installed WSL properly if this command works. The path should switch to a value that contains /mnt/c. Open up Powershell again and type in wsl. Next, you need to open the Microsoft store and search for a Linux distribution of your choice.ĭownload the distribution, install it, and launch it. Enable-WindowsOptionalFeature -Online -FeatureName Microsoft-Windows-Subsystem-Linux

setting up windows hot keys for mac

Restart your computer again when you’re done. (This code can be found from Microsoft’s official WSL installation documentation). Run it as administrator and enter the following code. Next, search for Powershell in the start menu. Restart your computer after checking this option. Next, scroll down and check Windows Subsystem for Linux. You do this by searching for “Turn Windows features on and off” in the start menu. Installing WSLįirst, you need to turn on WSL for Windows. Fortunately, Mike Riethmuller came and helped me out. I got so frustrated with WSL, I wanted to ditch it entirely. WSL is great, but it can be pretty hard to configure for actual coding purposes. It lets you use bash scripts just like in Linux and Mac. WSL puts a Linux machine inside a Windows machine.

setting up windows hot keys for mac

Windows Subsystem for Linux is hard to type, so I’m going to call it WSL from this point onwards. If you google about setting up a machine for development on Windows, you’d definitely have heard about the Windows Subsystem for Linux. This should help you out if you’re switching from Mac to Windows.įor this very first article, I’ll talk about setting up the command line and Git.

Setting up windows hot keys for mac series#

In this series of articles, I’ll explain everything I did to configure my new Windows machine. It was especially hard because I wanted this Windows machine to mirror everything I do on Mac. Setting up Windows was harder than I imagined.

  • I need a Windows computer for accessibility testing (NVDA + Firefox combination anyone?).
  • I chose to use Windows as a backup because: Setting up Windows for web development 8th Apr 2020Īfter a horrible experience with my 2018 Macbook, I decided it was time to buy a Windows device as my backup machine.














    Setting up windows hot keys for mac